The Faroese Parliament
The Faroese Parliament
Oldest Parliament in the World

The origin of the Faroese Parliament (the Løgting) can be traced back more than one thousand years. Originally its name was Althing, where all free men had access.

Since 1948 the Løgting has had legislative power over the areas which have been taken over as seperate jurisdiction in accordance with the Home Rule Act. The Faroese Government has the executive power within these areas.

The Løgting is elected for a period of four years and has 33 members. Since 2007 the Faroe Islands have been a single constituency and currently six parties are represented in the Løgting.

We also recommend
Løgtingið - Faroese Parliament
Read more